Running Poetry XIV

At this point of my life, I finally passed the 1,000th kilometer. I remember feeling unparalleled joy when I accomplished this milestone two years ago. Yet now, a voice in my head would say, “Took you long enough.” I admit that I did take my sweet time but it was worth it. It was a fun journey.

Abbreviated
Breathlessly flitted through cars
A parlous breakthrough

I am beholden
It’s gleam pried my eyes open
This is tyranny!
’twas a fleeting litany

Absent stars and moon
A dose of paranoia
Forfends disaster

Pampered by rubber
Spoiled by the cool evening breeze
Dawn road runs are hard

Against the rush home
Against maternal instinct
Against my schedule

Tuned out the jolly
Long slow distance minus long
No meteor showers

The stars seem nearer
I could reach out and pluck ’em
A breathless thought said

For a precarious minute
Explosions rattled the cage
My foot had crossed the limit
Cracked a smile and disengaged

Did not sleep a wink
Present and future at last
Agreed on something

Leave a Reply

