Enjoying The Colors

Color Manila Run Cebu  5k  04/06/14

I made a terrible mistake. I succumbed to peer pressure. I registered for a triathlon relay race as the runner. I did not need much convincing. Who wouldn’t want to compete in a triathlon? No. I wasn’t going to be the idiot that turned down a golden opportunity. I was the idiot that kept running even after whining about the pain though. Furthermore, I succumbed to peer pressure again. I registered for a color run. My friends managed to convince me that being covered in various colors while running was fun. They were not wrong. It was fun! Extremely fun.

Colorful clouds blotted out the sun as fire hoses gave us a mid-run bath. Our bodies were caked with rainbow colors. I briefly wondered at one point if I was in one of those pride parades. My friends busied themselves by rolling on the ground. Becoming as dirty/colorful as possible was the number one priority. The feel of this race was so different. Everyone was having fun. There were no prizes for this race. This was a true fun run.

Once I was passed the checkpoint, I shifted my focus to running. I spent 20 minutes on the first half, which was time well spent. My pace quickened. It took me about 300 meters to realize that it was already hot. The tropical summer heat was upon us. I thought about the upcoming triathlon race. It was possible that I was going to start running at almost noon. I was probably going to suffer through the noon heat. My train of thought made me nervous. I felt the heat become as unbearable as I thought it would be during the triathlon. My legs became super heavy. I was slowing down until I was too exhausted run. I walked. I was gasping for air. It felt like I was having a panic attack. I managed to get myself under control. The fartlek method put me at ease enough to get back my rhythm. I managed to squeeze out some energy to do a kick in the end.

As soon as I crossed the finish line, the nightmare ended. I was back to party mode. My friends saved me from the clutches of my imagination. However, I did derive some wisdom out of my freak out session. I need to run more during daytime. I need to do long runs and tempo runs. I mulled over my strategy as the concert began. Someone called it a color festival. The energy of the crowd was infectious. I allowed myself to be pulled in by my friends deep into the dancing mob. I was no dancer but I danced anyway. I allowed myself to relax and enjoy the moment. 40:08

One thought on “Enjoying The Colors

  1. Pingback: A Good Year | nullsturm

Leave a Reply

