Flightless

Lie for peace, fallacious peace

Denial of truths only serve to feed
A scream that would rouse rebels on their feet
It builds in my chest yet I’d dare conceal
These sacred words from the flightless angel

Lie with hate, invented hate

Good intentions beneath every misdeed
And discovery would signal retreat
Hands off my rusted heartstrings or reveal
These secret words to the flightless angel

Lie no more or break my core

When my bones tremble and ache with this need
And when my insides start to lose their heat
I’d rage for hours ’til I finally kneel
And speak three words to the flightless angel

When these words become unbound
I’ll sing ’til I’m unable
Of lovely virtue uncrowned
Of her, the flightless angel

Leave a Reply

