Dibs

I ebbed when I should have flowed
Her serenade promised poison
I could taste it from here
Or I thought I did
Never tasted its like in years
Now my lips tremble for a taste
Someone else called dibs

Sunk into an episode
I can’t sleep without my dragon
If I scream, you mishear
Promise, I just slid
You don’t ask so you’ll get a beer
I swear I did not fall from grace
But I broke my ribs

I crawled up to the high road
I’m not falling off this wagon
Not to pain nor to fear
But heaven forbid
Another age of forgone cheers
Should I let myself go to waste
Break ribs then call dibs

Leave a Reply

